Flow

Image

When your body is forced to perform, under that pressure is when diamonds are formed from rough stone. When you create this goal, with no option but to reach it – the body will find ways for you to attain the seemingly unattainable. Today during my swim set, I completed a fins set finless. It was a set of descending 100’s ending with 1:30’s and at the start it seemed impossible; I was feeling the fatigue setting in already on the normally easy pace of 1:40/100. I wasn’t feeling like I could perform, but as I reached the 1:30 pace, my legs kicked in an unfamiliar pattern- shorter and stronger, it was a new sensation. My pull was totally the “hook” style that I’ve been mindfully willing my arms and hands to master. I felt powerful, strong, fierce.

It’s truly incredible how the body will just straight up perform when your mind and heart want it badly enough; today I gave myself the beautiful gift of the experience of “flow”. The body sensation of pure “in the zone” state, automatic muscle firing in a holistic, whole body and mind intercourse resulting in goal attainment. I made the pace times, surprised the hell out of myself, and shit I’m damn proud and in love with my body and mind.

Sport for me is my own journey through the relentless pursuit of athletic mastery, a journey not an endpoint. These “holy shit” aka “aha” experiences are landmarks of fireworks and doorways to growth. I’ve not felt the forward progression in my training for a while, I’ve felt instead this state of steady stagnation, plateau. I’m learning how to treat my body as lovingly as it deserves in order to blossom and be the healthiest and happiest that is possible in my life. Today I felt like I was experiencing the true bliss and benefit of this self-love, all encompassing, bountiful love.

Truly; the body achieves what the mind believes, and there’s absolutely nothing more powerful than the made up mind.

Leave a Reply

