Mobilize Yourself

Image

 

“It makes no sense to worry about things you have no control over because there’s nothing you can do about them, and why worry about things you do control? The activity of worrying keeps you immobilized.” – Wayne Dyer

Mobilizing yourself, in any forward direction, is the key to growth.  Simple, forward.  Negative mind sets, mixed with hesitance, procrastination, “could/would/shoulding” on yourself is an utter waste of energy.  The answer to avoid stagnation, halting, and being immobilized, which is a gut wrenching recipe for being unhappy, is as easy as taking one single step in the right direction.  

Something I struggle with is perfection.  I’m taking an online Archaeology course (gagmewithaspoon) in which I have no interest, and am struggling with the gains of my degree through the means of delayed gratification.  I have an assignment that I have to do today, and my enthusiasm for it is below ground level, it’s like – the same amount of want I have for peanut butter to stop existing.  The best way for me to overcome this immobilizing stagnation I’m feeling is to just START, and screw it man, progress is fine, perfection in a field where my drive is zero, and my desire nil; WHATEVER!  I feel this need for perfection even still, and I’m going to challenge my belief system, and challenge my habit that I’m allowing to keep me in a state of being paralyzed.  Like, it’s a wicked nice day out, I am going to get this done, and that is that.

One step forward, that is all it takes:  so outline finished, rough, unique, imperfect, beautiful.

“Once you give up the need to be perfect, you can be great.”

One thought on “Mobilize Yourself

Leave a Reply

